Real women, spots and all …

This time last week I was at the Green Man festival hiding under my duvet while the rain hammered down on the roof of my tent sounding like bad interference on a broken radio (not the weather of last years festival). Outside my bunting was sodden, the ground was quickly turning to thick, muddy slop and and I know I wasn’t the only one wishing I’d stayed at home …

Ok, I was the only one.

Jimmy and the teens all seemed to take this set-back in their stride and not wanting to be a party pooper (my girl turned 17), I got my fetching waterproof trousers and wellies on and braved the chocolate custard (positive thinking) footpaths. Actually, it wasn’t so bad, the sun did come out a few times and the atmosphere at Green Man is always lovely and friendly, so what’s not to like (the mud?!).

Anyway, why am I talking about the Green Man festival on my sewing blog? Well, great bands aside, Metronomy, Beth Jean Houghton, of Montreal, The Walkmen, King Creosote and John Hopkins, Tuneyards, oh and so many more (notice I’ve not included Van Morrison or Dexy’s … sorry but no, no, no!), I was really taken with watching other festival goers this year. So many lovely people to look at and so many outfits to examine in the loo queue too.

(A nice gin and tonic every now and again helped me through it)

On our way to Wales, we stopped at a service station and I fell for the old ‘treat yourself to a magazine’ number. I bought myself the September issue of InStyle, what terrible mistake that was. Now, I’m not a huge magazine lover anyway, but this one really got on my nerves. Talk about being packed with adverts and unrealistic, pouting women who make you feel a bit poo about yourself while you’re sinking in mud, wearing filthy jeans and a dodgy hat to hide your greasy hair. It seemed like everyone featured in it had wealthy or celebrity connections and it started to really get on my pitta breads. Daisy Lowe is gorgeous of course, but honestly, her mother is Pearl; Stella Tennant might be ‘fashion talent’ (?) but she happens to be the grandaughter of the Duchess of Devonshire; Victoria Beckham is in the guide to the ‘hottest 100 designers’ (did she struggle at art college?) then there’s Georgia May Jagger (I can’t think who she could be related to), all that pandering and gushing (“5 reasons why we love Blake Lively” … urgh!) to beautiful women and I was almost vomiting.

Phew, got that off my chest. The Green Man festival was brimming with beautiful, natural women of all shapes and sizes. I can’t believe I subjected myself to the utterly pointless page turning of this magazine when all I had to do was leave my tent to see unique individuals with their own personal style and bucket loads of airbrush-free, natural beauty at all ages and they were REAL WOMEN!

Have a lovely weekend! x

1 Comment

Filed under ranting

One response to “Real women, spots and all …

  1. punkmik

    I would love to go to green man festival one time! And yeah I stay FAR away from magazines nowadays! I prefer observing the general population and their styles and how they dress their natural beautiful body shapes! 😀

Leave a Reply

