A winter skirt … lined!

When I sorted my wardrobe recently (you know, summer out, winter in) I realised that I am a serial summer seamstress, last winter is shrouded in a fog that I obviously got a bit lost in (what in the world did I do with my time?) and I made nothing to wear at all. Well, it will be different this year …

I’ve made a skirt, a lined skirt! I have never lined anything, apart from a sandwich tin (and let’s face it, sometimes I don’t even do that). It’s very satisfying lining something and actually I’m not sure why I was so worried about it as it was very straightforward and simple with this pattern.

I love it when (because of my inexperience) I look at a pattern and wonder how the hell it’s going to come together and make what it says on the packet, then as you work through it you realise just how clever it is and voila, you have a garment! It seems daft now but I was confused when I first saw this all laid out.

The pattern is Style 3410 from 1971 and it’s so simple, there are three pieces, one narrow front panel and two back wrap around pieces with a dart on the hips. I went for view b using the fabric my mother in law gave me from her attic. When I asked her if it was wool she said not and as it washes well, I suspect she’s right but anyway, it will be warm enough with the lining.

I almost left the pockets off because I worried it looked a bit bulky with them on but without them it was just a little bit boring. They are an insy bit wonky, but don’t say anything, I have it on good authority that no one will notice when it’s on (Jimmy is so kind) and after three attempts, I believe him.

I used some cotton I had for the facing and a contrasting zip. I might add some buttons in the same dark red to the pockets, these colours are a good combination in my humble opinion!

I’m afraid that there are no photos of me modelling my new make as I am in bed with a stinking coughcold and I look like poo. Seriously, I have a massive chin spot (another one), red eyes, sore nose and I’ve just curbed a nose bleed from so much blowing. But, do not worry, my Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing has arrived and whilst I may look rubbish, I am quite happy to be stuck in bed for the morning reading this.

Everything a revolting snotaholic needs to make her feel better. Except for chocolate. Bugger.

Oh and I mustn’t forget a quick, but huge thank you to the lovely Lizzy for my liebster blog nomination, very kind of you and cheered me up no end! I will look into what I do next when I’m not such a limp lettuce. x

I’m away next week with the whole in-law family for a little break and am determined to get up later to finish another make (although not lined and extremely impractical for the cold spell that is forecast)…

Or, maybe I’ll just stay here and sleep.

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under books, makes

11 responses to “A winter skirt … lined!

  1. Love the colour of that skirt, and the matching facings, very pretty. It looks perfect for Winter. Maybe it’s a wool blend if it washes well?
    Get well soon!

  2. Oh you poor little snotaholic poo.
    The good news is The Lined Skirt looks great – maybe you should hang it up in sight of your bed and bask in its glory. Get better soon!

  3. How exciting! Your skirt looks great. Lined skirts have (as yet) eluded me. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Oh I love that shade of blue with red, so please add some red buttons! That’s a really lovely skirt – right up my street. Hope you wear it lots this winter. Get well soon, sending you some virtual Lucozade! X

  5. Ooh – it’s lovely! The pockets are a great shape and properly pointy 🙂
    Be well!

  6. Damn- that is one lovely skirt! I love the pockets- they look spectacular and wool is simply stunning. What a fabulous make! Hope the head cold clears up soon!

Leave a Reply

