Doing things by halves …

I’ve had two nominations for the Leibster Blog Award (thank you) over the last year (a way for discovering blogs with under 200 followers where the nominated blogger answers 11 questions and nominates a further 11 bloggers setting new questions to help promote their blogs … and breathe). The first time, I got easily distracted, left it too long to respond and finally it went away and no one ever mentioned it again (phew!). Then Hannah of Sinbad and Sailor  put my name forward again and it’s been on my mind ever since. Now it’s lovely and a brilliant way of bringing lesser known (hello!) bloggers to attention, but I have really struggled to find people who either a) haven’t already had this award or b) who have fewer than 200 followers. There must be squillions out there but unless you are in bed with a broken leg, your entire family goes away for a fortnights holiday or your sewing machine has been sent away for a lengthy repair, how you find the time to discover them is beyond me!

liebster2

Is it ok if I just do a bit of this? If I fool with the structure of the rules will the Leibster monster punish me like the chain letter nightmares of the 1980s? I think I’ll be ok, so here’s what I’m going to do:

I’ll answer 5.5 of Hannah’s questions, write 5.5 facts about me, find 5.5 blogs that I think should be seen. and set 5.5 new questions This sounds really stupid but hopefully it’s better to do something than nothing?! Great …

So, here are my answers to five and a half of Hannah’s eleven questions:

1. What’s your favourite material to work with?

I love the material that I find in charity shops or that has been handed down and has a bit of history. If it’s cotton, that’s a bonus!

2. What’s the furthest you’ve ever been from home?

For a long time it was Wales … Then I met Jimmy and we went backpacking round Greece, got food poisoning, ran out of money and came home with nothing but an impressive tan and an immense dislike of Greek bathrooms. San Francisco stole our hearts for two weeks in 1998 (babies in tow) and then we discovered Scotland. It seems you don’t need to go far to meet nice folk and get wonderful views!

3. Where would you rather go – the bottom of the ocean or the moon?

The moon of course. I once went to a fancy dress party in a navy dress that I covered in stars and a papermaché moon head. When asked what I was (doh!) I shone a torch in their face and told them I was a moon beam. I’ve always had a soft spot for the moon, I’d be alone but nice and dry.

4. What’s your hangover cure/hair of the dog?

I’m afraid I only have to sniff a Becks and I’m a bit sleepy, half a glass of Merlot and everyone in the room knows I really love them . I haven’t had a hangover since 1994, my body seems to shut down before I can reach that stage these days (cheap date according to Jimmy).

5 and a half. What are your good day/ bad day songs?

Ooh too hard, there are so many … ELO – Mr Blue Sky always gets me bouncing around like a plonker and  as I can only answer half the question you’ll never know the other … 

Right, 5 and a half random facts about me:

1. I have a Morris Minor convertible called Harry.
2. I failed all my o’ levels (except art) with spectacularly bad grades, then spent two years retaking the damn things without much success (I’d just like to point out that I’m not stupid, just exceptionally terrible at exams).
3. Norman Wisdom once pinched my bottom.
4. On my wedding day, I didn’t know that I was getting married.
5. I once had thighs of steel and cycled from Whitehaven to Sunderland.
… and a half. If I eat eggs I …

OK, here are the 5 and a half blogs I nominate:

So-Ha
I met So-Ha at the London meet up and had a lovely chat about making clothes, her attention to detail is inspiring.

Eilidh
A new blog, pop along, take a peek at her great Mathilde and sing your praises (ideally in the comments box!).

Justine
A very impressive Pavot jacket caught my eye and now I’ve found a new blog to nose at!

Flossie
Anyone who can turn a bedspread into a rather nice tunic with such a young family in tow deserves an award!

Charlotte
A talented craft loving entusiast from Birmingham.

James
My other half. OK, this is cheating but I didn’t want anyone so feel like a half and as I already my another half, here’s Jimmy and his plastic camera. Not sewing related but very creative!

So, here are my 5 and a half questions for you:

1. If The National Gallery offered you a painting free of charge for your lounge, which would you take?
2. If you could have a me made fashion show, which fashion designer would you like to share the catwalk with?
3. You have discovered a time machine under your sewing table (just behind the scrap bag). With clothes in mind, which year would you go back to and why?
4. You have been given a bolt of your dream fabric and the help of Patrick Grant to make a dress. What pattern would you chose?
5. If you had a free flight to anywhere in the world, where would you go?
and a half. If you could bring back one item of clothing …

Ooh, all done, I hope you enjoy the blogs and I hope you nominated bloggers enjoy answering the questions and I hope I’m forgiven for not doing this award thing properly!

Sewing resumes tomorrow and not by halves. x

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Doing things by halves …

  1. Eek! Thank you so much for the award! I will do my best! Eilidh 🙂

  2. Wow! Thank you – off to ponder your questions….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

