Sewing is good for you …

You know how when you feel a bit rubbish, a brisk walk, jog round the block or jump about with your favourite Davina dvd can make you feel 100 times better? Well, Friday evening after a busy week at work with a mood of anxious exhaustion washing over me I did none of the above … but I did get out my sewing machine.

One hour is all it took and not only did I make myself feel better but I made my stressed out girl smile too with a new skirt …

IMG_2998The fabric is a bit of old curtain from the charity shop and dodging round the faded edges, I had just enough.

IMG_3001I looked at her favourite Topshop skirt (£40 and nothing to it!) for an idea of size and shape and then cut two slightly a-line rectangles. I overlocked the edges, added side pockets and stitched together. I gently gathered the skirt and added a waistband which I then threaded the elastic through. I quick machine hem and a secret wish that I was seventeen and little enough to fit it and voila! So simple!

She is delighted and even emerged from the pit of mind maps and tattered text books to get some fresh air with me yesterday. Just like me, it seems she too is a pocket girl …

IMG_2999

 

15 Comments

Filed under finds, makes

15 responses to “Sewing is good for you …

  1. Ahhhh, lovely skirt and great that you’re both feeling better 🙂

  2. Lovely skirt and how nice of you! A good bit of selfless sewing

  3. Love what you’ve done – I need to get my mitts on some curtains and creating Maria von Trapp style! 🙂

    http://www.mancunianvintage.com

  4. What a lovely way to cheer you both up! Lovely skirt 🙂

  5. Aww! Great skirt and I’m glad it cheered you both up. Sewing is definitely good for you.

  6. Ever since I saw this skirt I’ve wanted to make one. I’m a total beginner so I have no idea where to start. How did you take measurements to work out how much fabric to use? I hope you don’t mind me asking…I’m desperate to have a go!

    • I hope you get this as I just wrote a reply in relation to the wrong skirt, I’m such a wally! For this, I used an old skirt to get an idea of the size but I think I would normally take the waist measurement and add at least half of that measurement on again to the finished fabric piece. It really depends how many gathers you want and the type of fabric you are using. Maybe buy and old duvet or sheet from a charity shop and make a practice one first to give you an idea? It’s very simple and you’ll do a brilliant job I’m sure. If you get stuck, let me know and I’ll do my best to help.

      • Bless you! Thanks for helping. I’ve only had one day’s tuition and now I’m getting ahead of myself but I’m just addicted…and I love your blog! It’s my favourite sewing blog. Thanks again.

  7. Pingback: The Westbury Skirt | Stitched Up From the Start

Leave a Reply

