Ooh La La, my Birthday Blouse …

IMG_3072

I am a year older! Amongst my gifts of Parma Violets and and other exciting goodies was the Airelle blouse from the French pattern company Deer and Doe (thank you Jimmy). I’ve had my eye on this for ages (Roobeedoo has made some gems) and so couldn’t wait to get stuck in.

The pattern is a delight to use, firstly, it’s printed on ‘proper paper’ no flimsy ‘I will tear and upset you’ tissue here and that was so nice. I’m not really one for tracing these days (so impatient) and to have substantial pieces that will last is a real treat. I wouldn’t say that the instructions hold your hand all the way, but if you’ve made one or two clothes before, you will be fine to use this pattern.

IMG_3091

The biggest and most time consuming problem for me was picking a suitable fabric from my stash! The pattern calls for a lightweight drapey fabric and so in the end I went for this fine cotton that used to belong to my lovely mum. The blue used on the collar and cuffs is from the swap at the mega meetup in London and was originally put aside for my unfinished, disastrous trousers that are now in a carrier at the back of the cupboard.

IMG_3084

Everything came together really well with the Airelle. I cut the size 38 and luckily I didn’t need to make any adjustments. I love the use of contrast fabric and am really pleased with the trim (although strangely there are no instructions for adding this!).

IMG_3085I didn’t cut out a facing but attached the collar with bias binding instead (you can see a tiny bit peeking out in the photo above) and that worked very neatly.

So here it is …

IMG_3080

I’m not really miserable, I’m actually very happy but I wish I could do ‘funny’ photos! I’m so pleased with this top, I can’t wait to make another version or three or four. Sleeveless? No collar? Floral? So many options!

In other news, the exams are over! Normal life can resume and my teens can be teens again!

28 Comments

Filed under makes

28 responses to “Ooh La La, my Birthday Blouse …

  1. Amy

    Oooh happy birthday wishes!! This is super adorable and turned out great. Good work

  2. Happy birthday!!! Love & adore this. The trim is perfection

  3. Sam

    Happy Birthday! What a gorgeous top you made. I love everything about it!

  4. Aw, that’s so smart. I really like the contrast collar and check fabric. Happy birthday.

  5. Happy birthday! Love what you’ve done with that top – and it’s nice to find a fellow Parma Violets enthusiast! 😉

    http://Www.mancunianvintage.com

  6. Happy birthday too, if a bit late?!
    Love the blouse, it looks so pretty with the trim and the contrast.

  7. Béa

    That’s really pretty, without being at all twee. Lovely job!

  8. Clare

    It’s just lovely. I think I might need to do a bit of work on my husband if he’s going to be as thoughtful for my next birthday! Hope you had a lovely day.

  9. It’s beautiful! I wasn’t sold on this pattern until I saw your make.

  10. This is lovely! This pattern only grabbed me a few days ago when I saw Rachel from House Of Pinheiro’s version. Now your’s had made me want it too!

  11. Happy birthday! The Deer & Doe patterns are all so lovely, and the fabric you’ve used here is gorgeous!

  12. Hi your blouse is great I love the different shades of blue and the trim on the back, hope you had a good birthday! 🙂

  13. GAH! This is all kinds of amazing! What an absolutely fab Airelle!
    And a happy happy cake day to you, lovely lady!

  14. Jenni

    Love your blouse, what a fabulous birthday gift :o)

Leave a Reply

