Sunshine, sandals and sewing …

Not a lot of sewing going on here, work, work, work and a mini (Guinness fuelled) trip to County Wicklow have sort of taken over lately. Let’s not mention the missed flight and tears in the airport toilets (I was knackered and a plonker), I got home in the end, that’s all that matters!

So, rather than disappear completely, I thought I’d show you what my lovely girl made me for my birthday (I know it was weeks ago but I like to drag these occasions out) and it is sewing related …

IMG_3062

A sewing box covered with old patterns and filled with goodies (which are removed so that you can see the lovely insides) …

IMG_3061

Let’s not focus on the fact that she tore up vintage patterns (not mine thankfully but ones left over from her art project) to make this brilliant box … She’s an artist (and a treasure)!

I can also reveal my birthday sandals which I LOVE …

IMG_3055

You may well have a few pairs of these in your hallway? Your five year old lives in them and your eight year old won’t be seen dead in them unless they need to paddle? I know, I know, they are designed for kids, but I love these sandals! Toast sell them in adult sizes (hallelujah!) but mine were purchased from here. Sod the fact they look a bit sensible, I’m forty four now and so long as they are comfy and red, I don’t care!

Back to sewing, I am about to cut out another Airelle, a sleeveless version this time in a summery cotton. I am also edging closer to a Cambie (I have the ingredients, I just need to find the time it deserves) and I also have the new Colette Hawthorne (thanks to my lovely sister-in-law, hello Clare!) to look forward to, so I should be busy for a little while.

For now though, the sun is shining and I need to find a rockpool so I can test my super sandals! Have a lovely, sunny weekend x

 

6 Comments

Filed under gifts

6 responses to “Sunshine, sandals and sewing …

  1. I LOVE the sandals and now know exactly what to spend my birthday money on!! Thanks 🙂

  2. What a thoughtful daughter – lovely! You really can’t beat a red pair of sandals or shoes! Love your toe nails! 🙂

  3. That’s such a thoughtful present from your daughter, and it looks so cool! I would love some Saltwater sandals too – there’s something so pleasing about the crisp leather and the bright colours they come in.

  4. Clare

    Beautiful sandals and lovely matching toenails too!

  5. I absolutely love the sewing box, what a brilliant present!!

  6. The box is fabulous!
    And love your sandals (I have two pairs – boring black and lime green – red are on my wish list 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

