Hot patterns and I’m running away …

Thank you for the comments on my latest fail, so nice to know that I’m not alone in these little upsets! I’ve not managed to get around to re-making it, in fact I’ve not done much sewing at all lately what with a mega busy time at work and then a state of utter exhaustion due to this unbearable unbelievable heat! I have found some gems that I’d like to show you though …

IMG_3186

The artwork is just so lovely on these! The nightgown and robe is from 1968 and has never been cut, it’s very “Ooh Betty”!

IMG_3187

Then, there’s this lovely skirt from 1974 with a shaped yoke (yum) or a front wrap style. Those snazzy ladies make me feel all giggly and girly (cripes I need a holiday!) and their legs are to die for (note to self, they are not real). I paid 80p for these, how I love a bargain!

Then I saw this on that auction site …

IMG_3190and yes, I bought it. It’s a 1970s St Michael dress in seersucker cotton with a lined bodice and I love it! It’s an insy bit big in the bust but sticking to the brand, I bought an M&S multiway bra that has (ahem) “enhanced” things and it’s not too bad now.

IMG_3188

A couple of little darts in the back have stopped the unsightly gaping (this size 36 WILL fit my size 34) and apart from that, it’s perfect.

IMG_3189OK, that’s it from me for now. I’m about to run away to the cooler climate otherwise known as Wales. We will have no telly, no internet and no mobile signal, just a pile of books, some cards and did I mention the hot tub?! Shall I take my sewing machine? It’s hugely tempting …

x

5 Comments

Filed under finds

5 responses to “Hot patterns and I’m running away …

  1. Béa

    That ’74 skirt pattern is reminding me so hard of Jackie magazine fashion spreads! They all look so adorably seventies sassy! I love it to bits!

  2. Sarahel

    We always had family holidays in Wales. The last one, when I was 18, saw us take 2 cars, a boat, a dog, a hamster, half the local library, and yes, a sewing machine. So I say go for it.

    Really enjoy the blog.

  3. Sam

    Love the wrap version of that skirt pattern. The dress looks lovely too, I totally agree that you had to have it!

  4. Oh, I love that dress! Just gorgeous 🙂
    I’d be tempted to take my sewing machine, or at least some patterns to trace….

  5. Oh, that frock is fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

