Double denim is good …

Oh my goodness, squeezing in a make let alone a blog seems quite hard these days! Blogging is not the pleasant pastime it once was as my laptop has decided to go into ‘extremely senior’ mode and groans from the moment I open him up. Each command is met with a 20 second (minimum) delay while he thinks about his next move and if I dare try and open another window to look at vintage fabric while I wait, he gets really annoyed and freezes my desktop or worse still, just crashes.

So, I’m economising on its usage and today you have one post for the price of two, or two makes for the price of one!

IMG_3712

Oh my goodness that’s blooming short, why did know one tell me??!!

This is another Laurel, made about a month ago. I know, I know, another Laurel, I hear you, but, this is a cardboard denim version and I have worn it lots already. Ok, it’s a bit of a stiff denim (Walthamstow market last year £2 per metre) which I thought would soften with age. It might still, but four hot washes later and it’s colour and heaviness remain intact.

IMG_3710

IMG_3707This is Laurel (dress) number 3 (see here and here for the other two if you like) and although it’s probably time I tried something new, it is a good pattern to go to when your sewing confidence is at low point or when you can do without any stress. A virtually guaranteed, satisfyingly pleasing make indeed!

IMG_3708

For this version I cut it slightly A line (again), added pockets and some darts to the front just to relieve the cardboard toilet roll effect the denim gave, I think it worked out well! I do like this, it’s very easy to wear (goodness I’ll be in beige polyester slacks next), but if you try, make sure your denim is more forgiving, no one wants to look like a tube.

IMG_3714

Next, a Simplicity 2451. I’ve seen so many lovely versions of this skirt in the blogosphere and this make of mine has to be the most boring of them all! But, it is a ‘wearable muslin’, that’s my excuse anyway. I’d read many times that the sizing of this pattern was questionable and so before I cut into my wool, lace and brocade (I have plans!) I wanted to try it out on something less precious. A scrap of soft denim from the depths of my cupboard.

IMG_3700

 

IMG_3715

Knowing this was a ‘play make’, I didn’t actually ‘finish’ it that well and lazily, machine hemmed it (don’t look closely at the photos). I was really just testing the pattern for size. I thought it was ok but an outing to the office last week ended in many back to front moments so it still needs tweaking. I do like this skirt and the way it came together so I’m quite happy to go forth and chop into my wool now, maybe even today!

Or there’s that laundered, folded blackwatch tartan that is screaming ‘Make A Christmas Dress’ at me! My day off is disappearing fast, best get on … 

My laptop is about to be banished to the naughty step, deep breathing and a burst of computer free sewing is in order I think. Better publish this quickly before it crashes again and sends me off to the gin cupboard!

7 Comments

Filed under makes

7 responses to “Double denim is good …

  1. That denim skirt looks great. Makes me want to try that skirt.
    But I’m LOVING the shoes. I think I’ve commented on them in the past. What brand are they??

  2. This dress looks really cute. I’m in the midst of making my first Laurel (and hopefully the first thing that’s going to fit me and thus be completed). I like it in the denim with the a-line shape too.

  3. Your dress and skirt are both lovely. Re the cardboard denim, I had the same problem with some cotton poplin. I googled it, and the solution was to soak the offending fabric overnight in hot water with loads of fabric softner in it. I tried it, and it worked like a charm. Good luck with your christmas dress.

  4. Two firm (sorry, no stiff denim reference intended 😉 ) favorites made in denim – double score! I link them both slightly more casual & think the Laurel looks great with the t-shirt stripes too (cute 🙂 )
    That skirt is a winner too. Have a great Christmas, see you next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

