Orange is good for you …

skirtI made a skirt! No pattern was involved, it’s just made up using some old (but lovely) orange (my new favourite colour) wool, tweed fabric (£1.50, Oxfam), a bit of spare lining, a recycled zip and some petersham ribbon (£3.99 for a huge roll, Oxfam) and it came together surprisingly well. I cut the fabric pieces slightly shaped at the top to create ‘hips’ and with a little to-ing and fro-ing gradually got the darts in just the right place to create a good fit.

photo-2I finished the seams with the overlocker, inserted the invisible zip, made the lining, then turned over the waistband and used the petersham ribbon as a facing. I hand stitched the hem (so neat) and, bingo, I have a new wearable, warm and ultra useful skirt!

photo-3To be honest, I really enjoyed this simple, ‘make it up as you go along’ game. It reminded me of my early sewing ventures when I thought I could free wheel to success (but actually the ride was better than the end result!), no rules and any mistakes quickly taken on board and hopefully not repeated. I’ve worn this skirt loads over the last couple of weeks so I’d call that a success and I love it!

By the way, you might like to know that the Great British Sewing Bee book is in W H Smith for a bargain price of £7.99, in case like me, you didn’t get it the first time round. It’s lovely and you can look at Patrick the pretty pictures for hours on end while you wait for the new series to start!

Have a lovely weekend!

10 Comments

Filed under makes

10 responses to “Orange is good for you …

  1. Lovely! Classic and well-made – I love a good plaid skirt!

  2. Béa

    Pretty! That’s a gorgeous tweed- excellent Oxfam find.

    That’s how I used to make skirts for myself when I was a teenager- lots of trying on & pinning!

  3. what a super cute and very comfy looking skirt, perfect!

  4. What a great skirt! I love the fabric (wish I could find stuff like this!), and it looks fab with black tights.

  5. What a lovely skirt. You’re so good at finding fabric in charity shops.

Leave a Reply

