Anna the poster girl …

IMG_4300Happy Friday everyone! It’s been so hot here today and lucky for me, I had the day off. Did I sit in the garden and watch the swifts? No I did not, I sat in my sewing room (sun blazing through the windows, iron on, hot and sweaty, you get the picture) and made a By Hand London dress … as you do.

IMG_4285This is my third Anna (I’ve yet to blog about Anna number 2, but you can see the first one here) and I love them all but of course this one is a bit special (what with the gathered skirt and patch pockets). Please excuse the white/ blue/ dead legs, I just can’t seem to find the time to do a fakey on them (and please also ignore that damp patch on the wall, it’s all about the dress, the dress!) …

IMG_4282Apologies for the blurry photos too (so many apologies!), not sure if this was after Jimmy had had a cider or before …

IMG_4281I love this dress, I’d forgotten all about the beauty of a patch pocket too, so you will see more of them I guarantee.

The cotton (which was a dream to sew) is a Rose and Hubble print from Sew Over It (my new sewing crush). I can’t stop looking at their website and I actually do dream about their fabric selection (really, I do). I’d intended to use this for a skirt but the whole summer dress obsession thing took over and I couldn’t stop myself. There is literally nothing left from 2 metres!

Ok, you’ve had enough of the dress and you want to know about my gorgeous poster don’t you? It’s just the bees knees isn’t it? My Lovely Dad gave it to me, a left over from his teaching days (rescued from a skip when the school ‘modernised’). It’s been hanging in their house for years and have tried to steal it on several occasions. Finally he got the message … thank you Dad.

IMG_4303Have a lovely weekend!

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under makes

10 responses to “Anna the poster girl …

  1. As much as I love the dress (and it is gorgeous), I’ll admit I was looking over your shoulder thinking “ooh, what’s that poster?!” What an excellent find! Bravo to your dad.

  2. scruffybadger

    As always you haven’t disappointed, it’s wondrous! And the patch pockets are too cute and winsome(?) not sure if I’ve used the right word, but it’s meant as a compliment. And yes, I’m swooning over sew over it fabrics at the moment too….

  3. The dress is gorgeous. The patch pockets are adorable. I was wondering, with your skirt did you cut a rectangle or go with a gathered A-line? the shape is very lovely.

  4. This is lovely, that fabric is just perfect for a summer dress. I am in love with pockets at the moment and I have to say patch pockets are my favourite so I love what you have done here. Great poster too!

  5. Your dress is gorgeous! I love those patch pockets so much. I’ve been planning another Anna but with a circle skirt, although I’m not sure if I have enough fabric. So I may have to copy you (again! I have to stop doing that!). Also, the poster is fantastic. How could anybody ever have thought of throwing it out?!

    • It was a long time ago, probably before the whole vintage thing took off. Lucky for me my parents have always loved old over new so my eagle eyed dad got a beauty there! It’s great that we like each others makes and get inspired, so gather away, looking forward to seeing it!

Leave a Reply

